What Is The Comprehensive Peace Agreement In Sudan

Violence by the Ugandan rebel group Lord`s Resistance Army (LRA) remained a problem. Similarly, numerous clashes with other armed groups have taken place on the Upper Nile since the end of 2005.2 With the withdrawal of the SPLM from eastern Sudan, as stipulated by the ceasefire rules, the conflict was expected to resume. The redistribution was carried out to monitor and monitor the UN mission in eastern Sudan. The UN had sent 10,000 troops to report on the commitment of the government and SPLM.4 UNMIS examined the redistribution of 5,672 soldiers from a declared force of 8,763. Non-responsible troops were abandoned as the SPLA.5 The redeployment of fas was in the calendar. According to the same report, security mechanisms such as the Joint Military Ceasefire Committee and the territory`s joint military committees worked as planned. 1.1 The parties agree that the guiding principles and provisions below form the basis of the overall text on the distribution of assets. A referendum was held in South Sudan between 9 and 15 January 2011. After the referendum, South Sudan became an independent country on 9 July 2011. However, the security situation remained a problem after the referendum. According to the UNMIS CPA update, the 141st CJMC meeting was held in Khartoum on May 4, 2011. During the meeting, CJMC asked CPC to contact the Joint Defense Board (JDB) to establish a commission of inquiry to investigate the May 1 collision in the Abyei area resulting from the FAS invasion.

It was the breakdown of the ceasefire agreement. On 10 May 2011, the status of the SPLA was discussed in the States of Blue Nile and Southern Kordofan because war broke out in the North before the independence of the South, and thus before the end of the CPA period1. The Abyei region, located near the historic border between North and South Sudan, established by the CPA, has been granted special administrative status. Abyei, which is defined in the agreement as a « bridge between North and South, » consists of the area of nine Ngok Dinka chiefs, transferred from south to north in 1905, while Sudan was under common Anglo-Egyptian rule. Under the provisions of the CPA, Abyei should be governed by an elected executive council. In addition, its inhabitants were considered citizens of the western state of Kordofan in the north and bahr al-Ghazal state in the south, and were represented in the parliaments of both states.